Tags

, , , ,

Hostess

Once upon a time, my mother packed Hostess cupcakes in my lunchbox. I loved the spongy cake, the creamy filling and the thicker icing than other snack cakes.

And I’ve missed them since the liquidation of Hostess Brands following Chapter 11 bankruptcy last year. It didn’t surprise me when the shuttering of the company triggered a rush on snack cakes, with stores selling out of the goodies within hours.

Hostess sold off its brands in chunks to different buyers: Its major bread brands – including Wonder – were sold to Flowers Foods (which makes Tastykakes.) McKee Foods (which makes Little Debbie snack cakes) bought Drakes Cake (creator of Devil Dogs and Yodels.) Metropoulos & Co. teamed with Apollo Global Management bought Twinkies and other Hostess cakes for $410 million.

The good news is they’ll be back on supermarket shelves on July 15 and Hostess is expecting a blockbuster return for its Twinkies, Cupcakes and Donettes. The company says the cakes will taste the same, but the boxes will bear the tag line “The Sweetest Comeback In The History of Ever.”

Now, if I can just find my lunchbox….

